Ceremony for the 2021 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Award winners

The award ceremony honoring the 2021 winners of the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards took place on Feb. 18 in conjunction with the virtual 2022 AAAS Annual Meeting. Watch the ceremony here, with the introduction of the winners and their acceptance remarks.

The event was hosted by Laura Helmuth, editor in chief of Scientific American. Sudip Parikh, AAAS CEO and executive publisher of the Science family of journals, also participated, as did Stacey Bailey, director of communications and prizes for The Kavli Foundation. In 2009, the foundation endowed the awards program — which had been established in 1945 — and doubled its commitment in 2015 in order to make the program global.

There were entries from 47 countries for the 2021 contest, with award recipients for the first time from Spain, India, Ethiopia, Zambia and Malawi. Journalists from Canada, the United Kingdom and The Netherlands also are among the winners. Six of the award-winning entries featured notable reporting on the COVID-19 pandemic. Others dealt with important issues of equity and ethics in the conduct of science. 

Go here for more details and links to the winning entries. The 2022 contest will open for entries starting in early May.