2016 Award Winner Acceptance Speeches

The gala reception and award ceremony honoring the 2016 winners of the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards took place in the Dell EMC Club at Fenway Park on February 17, 2017 during the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting. Three-time award winner Paula Apsell of NOVA moderated the event and several award judges including Naomi Starobin of WHYY-FM Radio, Christina Horsten of Deutsche Presse-Agentur and three-time award winner David Baron, were among those in attendance. Watch individual award speeches below.


Large Newspaper – Gold
Jop de Vrieze and Zvezdana Vukojevic


Large Newspaper – Silver
Christopher Schrader


Small Newspaper – Gold
Peter Byrne


Small Newspaper – Silver
Barbara Peters Smith


Magazine – Gold
Stephen S. Hall


Magazine – Silver
Jane Qiu


Television - Spot News/Feature Reporting: Gold
Rebecca Morelle and Stuart Denman


Television - Spot News/Feature Reporting: Silver
Nsikan Akpan and Matthew Ehrichs


Television - In–Depth/Feature Reporting: Gold
Bosse Lindquist, Johannes Hallbom, Johan Brånstad, Anna Nordbeck, Jakob Larsson,,Johannes Wahlström and Emil Engerdahl
(Anna Nordbeck accepts)


Television - In–Depth/Feature Reporting: Silver
Peter Oxley, Gwyn Williams, Rob Hartel and Kirk Johnson
(Rob Hartel and Kirk Johnson accept)


Audio – Gold
Ari Daniel and Peter Thomson


Audio – Silver
Shankar Vedantam, Kara McGuirk-Allison, Maggie Penman and Max Nesterak
(Maggie Penman speaks)


Online – Gold
Charles Piller and Natalia Bronshtein


Online – Silver
Christie Aschwanden


Children’s Science News – Gold
Anna Rothschild


Children’s Science News – Silver
Roberta Kwok