2015 Award Winners' Acceptance Remarks

Carla Schaffer

The gala reception and award ceremony honoring the 2015 winners of the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards took place at Smithsonian National Zoo’s Visitor Center on February 12, 2016 during the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting. Author and science writer Joel Achenbach of The Washington Post moderated the event and several award judges, including Laura Helmuth of The Washington Post, Christina Horsten of Deutsche Presse-Agentur, and Robert Lee Hotz of The Wall Street Journal, were among those in attendance. Watch 17 of the 25 individual winners share their remarks below.

Large Newspaper: Gold

Andrea K. McDaniels


Large Newspaper: Silver

Nathaniel Herzberg


Small Newspaper: Gold

Matthew Miller


Magazine: Gold

Alexandra Witze


Magazine: Silver

Amanda Gefter


Television - Spot News/Feature Reporting: Gold

Katie Campbell


Television - Spot News/Feature Reporting: Silver

Miles O’Brien


Television - In-Depth Reporting: Gold

Alex Freeman and Jonathan Renouf (not shown)


Radio: Gold

Angela Saini and Rami Tzabar

Radio: Silver

Elizabeth Dunbar and Dan Kraker


Online: Gold

Mark Harris


Online: Silver

Pam Belluck on behalf of the New York Times


Children’s Science News: Gold

Stephen Ornes


Children’s Science News: Silver

Joan Cartan-Hansen


Winners not in attendance:


Small Newspaper: Silver

Helga Rietz



In-Depth Reporting: Silver

Lone Frank and Pernille Rose Grønkjær


Online: Silver

Kevin Sack, Sheri Fink, Adam Nossiter, Daniel Berehulak, Dan Edge (for Frontline), and The New York Times graphics team