Entries Are No Longer Being Accepted for the 2021 Awards

The contest year is from July 16, 2020 to July 15, 2021. The entry deadline is August 1, 2021.We changed some of the categories last year. Be sure to read the Categories, Submission Procedures, Contest Rules, and Frequently Asked Questions, before starting your entry.

We have been recognizing excellence in science journalism since 1945 and celebrated our diamond anniversary last year. Thanks to a doubling of our endowment by The Kavli Foundation in 2015, we accept entries from journalists worldwide in all categories.

If you have questions about an existing entry, please contact us at sja@aaas.org.

Do explore our website to learn about the prize-winning work of our award recipients and the history of the awards program, which encourages better public understanding of science and its impact through rigorous, informed reporting and writing. The media landscape may change, but our commitment to outstanding science writing remains the same. Follow us on Twitter @AAASKavli.