Contest Rules

The contest year is 16 July 2023 through 15 July 2024. All entries must be submitted online on or before 11:59 p.m., U.S. Pacific time, on 1 August 2024. Entries must have been originally published, broadcast or posted online during the contest year. There is no entry fee.

The awards are open to reporters doing work for independent news organizations around the world. Articles must be readily accessible to the public by subscription, newsstand sales or online access. If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation. See online FAQ for further discussion.

You cannot enter the same story or stories in two different categories, nor may you enter a story both as an individual entry and as part of a group of stories.

At their discretion, judges and AAAS staff may move entries between categories.

Access to entries: If an outlet has a paywall or limited access (such as no more than five free stories per month), the entrant MUST provide password access for the story links or, preferably, readable PDFs of the content. Failure to provide accessible content will result in disqualification.

Entry limit: Entrants may submit up to THREE entries in all (across one or more categories).

The following are not eligible for the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards:

  • Items published originally in AAAS publications or produced by AAAS.
  • Items by employees of AAAS (including those on the masthead of Science magazine) or The Kavli Foundation. 

Winners of the 2023 awards are not eligible. Individuals who have won three times are no longer eligible.

Read the official contest rules.